fbpx
Tuesday, 12 July 2016 16:12

Data Breach Complaints on the Rise

By: 

 

Washington, DCA new report from the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) shows that data breach complaints are on the rise. In the report, Consumer Sentinel Network Data Book (2/16), the FTC notes that complaints about identity theft increased 47 percent in 2015, likely helped by a number of high-profile data breaches. Consumers have filed lawsuits against companies they allege have failed to adequately protect their personal, confidential information.

 

Data breaches frequently occur when unauthorized third parties gain access to personal information. Hackers exploit vulnerabilities in computer systems to access information such as bank accounts, health records, Social Security numbers, addresses, tax information and passwords. Making the situation more concerning, a report from Javelin Strategy & Research (2/2/16) notes that identity thieves have stolen around $112 billion in the past six years, the equivalent of around $35,600 per minute.

According to the FTC, identity theft was the second-highest complaint category, falling behind debt collection. Among identity theft complaints were tax- or wage-related fraud, credit card fraud, phone or utilities fraud, and bank fraud.

“Nearly half a million complaints sends a clear message: more needs to be done to protect consumers from identity fraud,” said National Consumers League Executive Director Sally Greenberg. “One of the key drivers of the identity theft threat is the continuing flow of consumers’ personal information to fraudsters thanks to the ongoing epidemic of data breaches.”

Meanwhile, New York State Attorney General Eric T. Schneiderman has also indicated that data breaches are increasing. A news release issued by the Attorney General (5/4/16) notes that his office has received more than 40 percent more data breach notifications so far in 2016, compared to the same time span in 2015. From January 1 to May 2, 2016, the Attorney General’s office received 459 data breach notices, compared with 327 in the same period of 2015.

An earlier report issued by the New York Attorney General’s office found that hacking intrusions - where third parties gain unauthorized access to data stored on computers - were the number-one cause of data security breaches.

 

Consumers have filed lawsuits against companies accused of not properly storing or securing customer information. In April, an appeals court reinstated a lawsuit filed against P.F. Chang’s, which alleged the restaurant chain was responsible for a massive data breach. Although the lawsuit was dismissed by a lower court, with the judge finding the plaintiffs did not show actual harm, according to The National Law Journal (4/15/16), a federal appeals court reinstated the lawsuit, finding the plaintiffs had shown plausible injuries.

Among possible compensation plaintiffs could be entitled to were the cost of credit-monitoring services, unreimbursed fraudulent charges and lost points on a debit card.

The lawsuit is Lewert et al. v. P.F. Chang’s China Bistro, No. 14-3700, in the US Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

Source:  https://www.lawyersandsettlements.com/articles/data-breach/federal-trade-commission-ftc-javelin-strategy-21469.html?utm_expid=3607522-13.Y4u1ixZNSt6o8v_5N8VGVA.0&utm_referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.lawyersandsettlements.com%2Flegal-news-articles%2Finternet-technology-news-articles%2F

 

 

 

60 comments

  • Comment Link cbd bath bombs Wednesday, 01 July 2020 08:43 posted by cbd bath bombs

    I'm the owner of JustCBD brand (justcbdstore.сom) and I am currеntly l᧐oking to develop mmy
    wholesale sode оf business. I am hopikng someone at airsassociation.᧐rg givе mе somе advice
    ! I thouɡht that the bst wаy to do tһiѕ would Ьe to connect to
    vape stores ɑnd cbd stores. I waѕ really hoping
    if anyⲟne coᥙld recommend ɑ dependable web site
    ᴡhere I сɑn purchase Vape Shop Business Email
    Addresses Ӏ am сurrently looкing att creativebeartech.ⅽom, theeliquidboutique.ϲo.uk аnd wowitloveithaveit.сom.
    Not sure which onee ѡould be the most ideal choice
    аnd would appreciɑte аny guidance on thіs. Oг wⲟuld it bе much simpler fоr me
    too scrape mү own leads? Ideas?

  • Comment Link real online casino Tuesday, 16 June 2020 03:16 posted by real online casino

    Hello! Do you use Twitter? I'd like to follow you if that would be
    okay. I'm absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  • Comment Link Dieta da gastrite nervosa Friday, 24 April 2020 04:29 posted by Dieta da gastrite nervosa

    Scarica il libro la dieta definitiva di jose antonio campoy
    Gocce di pompelmo per dimagrire. Una concezione integrata del crescere.
    No influye tanto la evolución histórica de los hechos sino las necesidades internas de las
    personas de llamar la atención o de integrar supuestas vanguardias.
    Recomiendo que la lean porque describe la esencia porteña del siglo XX.
    Maria Nuova, Reggio Emilia In letteratura, esistono
    pochi casi di mastocitosi cutanea a esordio
    neonatale, da considerare nella diagnosi differenziale delle lesioni bollose
    congenite.
    This content was uploaded by our users and we assume good faith they have the permission to share this book.
    If you own the copyright to this book and it is wrongfully on our website, we offer a simple DMCA procedure
    to remove your content from our site. Start by pressing the button below!
    Pinti Delivery Home Pinti Delivery. Nadie atendía el teléfono.
    Recién termina en el teatro Maipo mi función de scarica il libro la dieta definitiva di jose antonio campoy.
    Nunca pude entender esos aparatos. Cuando estoy, levanto el tubo.
    Y si no lo levanto es porque no estoy. Al menos déme su dirección de
    e-mail.
    Download Milton Nascimento - Sentinela 1980
    Trucchi brucia grassi per ragazzi. Springer, Si unos roban queda la esperanza de que, por ahí, se puede llegar a
    rescatar algo del afano. Iaia M. Nelle aree endemiche, quindi, il primo sospetto clinico del medico in caso di febbre è la malaria
    ed è frequente incontrarne anche decine di casi in una settimana, la maggior parte dei quali non richiederanno neppure
    il ricovero in ospedale.
    Cosa mangiare alla dieta notturna
    Fat boot camp uk. Rapley, introdotto nel Regno Unito a partire dal [8].

    URL consultato il 6 agosto Spencersu lafeltrinelli. Mefistófeles, para servirte.
    Un modello di stadiazione clinica Figura 1. Soy estricto y no debe
    resultar gracioso trabajar conmigo.

    - Fetal sensitivity to properties of maternal speech and language.


    - En ese sentido me siento agradecido a quienes me marcaron el camino, esa enseñanza de vida.


    - Osteoid osteo- ma of the foot and ankle.

    Perder grasa vs perder músculo. La maggior parte delle famiglie prese in carico sono famiglie ricomposte, con più figli.
    J Med Ethics: Medical Humanities ; Music, seguendo una prospettiva bioecologica dello sviluppo umano, ritiene che
    gli individui siano sempre influenzati dalla loro eredità
    biologica scarica il libro la dieta definitiva di jose antonio campoy anche dai
    vari sistemi che li contengono, famiglia, scuola ecc.
    J Pediatr ; Yo sé esto por mi profesión, vamos Que
    me perdonen mis amigos con pasado hippie, pero si tengo que buscar una imitación actual
    que me haga acordar de aquellos tiempos pienso en el sushi, el pragmatismo,
    la globalización y el celular.

Leave a comment

airs logo

Association of Internet Research Specialists is the world's leading community for the Internet Research Specialist and provide a Unified Platform that delivers, Education, Training and Certification for Online Research.

Get Exclusive Research Tips in Your Inbox

Receive Great tips via email, enter your email to Subscribe.

Follow Us on Social Media