Monday, 08 July 2019 15:10

Google is tracking your every move - here's how to auto-delete Location History

Author:   [Source: This article was Published in mirror.co.uk BY Sophie Curtis]

 [Source: This article was Published in mirror.co.uk BY Sophie Curtis - Uploaded by the Association Member: Issac Avila]

Google now lets you automatically delete your location history after a fixed period of time

It probably comes as no surprise that Google keeps track of everywhere you go via the apps you use on your smartphone.

This information is used to give you more personalised experiences, like maps and recommendations based on places you've visited, real-time traffic updates about your commute, help to find your phone and more targeted ads.

But while these things can be useful, you may not feel comfortable with the idea of Google holding on to that information indefinitely.

In the past, if you chose to enable Location History, the only way to delete that data was to go into your app settings and remove it manually.

But Google recently introduced a new setting that allows you to automatically delete your location history after a fixed period of time.

There are currently only two options - automatically deleting your Location History after three months or after 18 months - but it beats leaving a trail of information that you might not want Google or others to see.

Here's how to automatically delete your Location History on Android and iOS:

  1. Open the Google Maps app
  2. In the top left, tap the Menu icon and select "Your timeline".
  3. In the top right, tap the More icon and select "Settings and privacy".
  4. Scroll to "Location settings".
  5. Tap "Automatically delete Location History".
  6. Follow the on-screen instructions.

If you'd prefer to turn off Location History altogether, you can do so in the "Location History" section of your Google Account.

 

You can also set time limits how long Google can keep your Web & App Activity, which includes data about websites you visit and apps you use.

Google uses this data to give you faster searches, better recommendations and more personalised experiences in Maps, Search and other Google services.

Again, you have to option to automatically delete this data after three or 18 months.

  1. ​Open the Gmail app.
  2. In the top left, tap the Menu icon and select "Settings".
  3. Select your account and then tap "Manage your Google Account".
  4. At the top, tap Data & personalisation.
  5. Under "Activity controls" tap Web & App Activity"
  6. Tap "Manage activity".
  7. At the top right, tap the More icon and then select "Keep activity for".
  8. Tap the option for how long you want to keep your activity and then tap "Next".
  9. Confirm to save your choice.

The new tools are part of Google's efforts to give users more control over their data.

The company has also introduced "incognito mode" in a number of its smartphone apps, which stops Google tracking your activity

It is also putting pressure on web and app developers to be more transparent about their use of cookies so that users can make more informed choices about whether to accept them.

Leave a comment

airs logo

Association of Internet Research Specialists is the world's leading community for the Internet Research Specialist and provide a Unified Platform that delivers, Education, Training and Certification for Online Research.

Get Exclusive Research Tips in Your Inbox

Receive Great tips via email, enter your email to Subscribe.

Follow Us on Social Media

Book Your Seat for Webinar GET FREE REGISTRATION FOR MEMBERS ONLY      Register Now